Fellowships & Awards

UGSA offers a number of scholarships, fellowships and awards to support workforce development in Urogynaecology through networking, training, education and research between colleagues across our region and globally.


The Urogynaecological Society of Australasia offers an annual Research Scholarship valued between 20K and 40K. 
UGSA works collaboratively with the RANZCOG Women's Health Foundation who assist by administering the UGSA Research Scholarship. The RANZCOG Research Grants Committee assess applications using a process modelled on the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) process with revisions to ensure, as much as possible, that early-career support for high quality research with a commitment to women's health is promoted through the seleciton process.

Fellowship Winners

Mooska Raoofi
Institution | Royal Women's Hospital Melbourne
Project |Preoperative and intraoperative assessment of the urterosacral ligaments in women undergoing pelvic organ prolapse surgery: an observational study

Ellen Yeung
Institution | Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital
Project |Histological analysis and imaging of explanted pelvic mesh

Victoria Buckley
Project |Is improved voiding associated with improved urgency urinary incontinence after prolapse repair?

Zhuoran Chen 
Institution | University of New South Wales
Project |Refractory Urge Incontinence: the role of cytokines a marker for persistent infection in these patients?

Chin Yong
Institution | The Royal Women's Hospital 
Project | Bilateral sacrospinous ligament flap for treatment of apical pelvic organ prolapse: a combined adaveric study and magnetic resonance imaging study.


Alexandra Mowat
Institution | Royal Brisbane ad Women's Hospital 
Project | Evaluation of Polycaprolactone (PCL) as a tissue engineering scaffold for the surgical treatment of pelvic organ prolapse in the sheep model.


Lin Li Ow
Institution | Monash Health
Project |Mini sling or Retropubic sling in women with intrinsic sphincter deficiency - a RCT study (Mini RISD)


UGSA annually invites Abstracts for submission to the Free Communication and Poster Presentation at the UGSA Annual Scientific Meeting. 
Abstracts are welcome on any topic relevant to female pelvic floor dysfunction.  Abstracts will be selected according to scientific merit.  Abstracts should be submitted by the presenting author.  Only one author per abstract can be nominated by the 'presenting author'.

Abstract Winners

2023 | Davide Hennes & Chin Yong
2022 | Stephanie Khaw & James Alexander
2020 | Yvonne Wong
2019 | Lin Li Ow
2018 | Natharnia Young
2018 | Jerome Melon


Travel Scholarship

The Urogynaecological Society of Australasia (UGSA) annually offers trainees with a special interest in urogynaecology to apply for a travelling scholarship.  
The scholarship, up to the value of $5000 provides for registration, travel and accommodation to a major international meeting.  This scholarship is subject to availability and current travel restrictions.

Travel Scholarship Recipients

2019 | Niki Dykes
2018 | Payam Nikpoor
2017 | Bernadette Brown
2016 | Lin Li Ow

2015 | Oliver Daly
2014 | Natharnia Young
2013 | Vivien Wong
2012 | Kris Cvach
2011 | Kurinji Kannan
2010 | Joe Lee